Services

Steering Committee

steering committee, diverse group of students in the classroom

Houston ISD/Dave Einsel: www.houstonisd.org

Our CUBE Leadership Team

The Council of Urban Boards of Education (CUBE) is guided by a steering committee that seeks to foster effective school board governance in urban school districts. The steering committee is comprised of 16 school board members elected by representatives of the school districts participating in the CUBE program. The president and executive director of NSBA serve as ex officio members.

Steering committee members are elected to a three-year term. The committee elects its chair and vice chair, and the chair also serves as a voting member of the NSBA Board of Directors.

Officers

Chair and NSBA Director

Micah Ali

Micah Ali
Compton Unified School District
501 S. Santa Fe Drive
Compton, CA 90221
mali@compton.k12.ca.us

CUBE term expires 2019 – currently serving 1st term

Vice Chair

Rhonda Skillern-Jones

Rhonda Skillern-Jones
Houston Independent School District
4400 West 18th Street
Houston, TX 77092
rskille2@houstonisd.org

CUBE term expires 2019 – currently serving 1st term

 

Secretary

Ruth Veales

Ruth Veales
Oklahoma City Public Schools
900 North Klein Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK 73106
ruthrena@yahoo.com

CUBE term expires 2019 – currently serving 2nd term

Immediate Past Chair

Bruce Alexander

Bruce Alexander
Akron Public Schools
70 North Broadway
Akron, OH 44308
bdalexander30@yahoo.com

Currently serving 1st year as Immediate Past Chair


Members

Steve Corona

Steve Corona
Fort Wayne Community Schools
1200 S. Clinton
Fort Wayne, IN 46802
scorona428@gmail.com

CUBE term expires 2021—currently serving 2nd term

Ericka Ellis-Stewart

Ericka Ellis-Stewart
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools
P.O. Box 30035
Charlotte, NC 28230
ericka.ellis-stewart@cms.k12.nc.us

CUBE term expires 2019—currently serving 2nd term


Ray Freeman
Warrensville Heights City Schools
4500 Warrensville Center Rd
Warrensville Heights, OH 44128
ray.freeman@whcsd.org

CUBE term expires 2020 – currently serving 1st term

Martha James-Hassan
Baltimore City Schools
200 E North Ave, Rm 406
Baltimore, MD 21202
mjames-hassan@bcps.k12.md.us

CUBE term expires 2020 – currently serving 1st term


Jayme Mathias
Austin Independent School District
1111 W 6th St
Austin TX 78703
jayme@jaymemathias.com

CUBE term expires 2020 – currently serving 1st term

Leah Puryear
Charlottesville City Schools
1562 Dairy Rd
Charlottesville, VA 22903
lcp6f@virginia.edu

CUBE term expires 2020 – currently serving 1st term


Jacinto Ramos, Jr.
Fort Worth Independent School District
100 N. University Dr.
Fort Worth, TX 76164-8621
jacinto.ramos@fwisd.org

CUBE term expires 2020 – currently serving 1st term

Nandi Sekou
U.S. Virgin Islands Board of Education
P. O. Box 11900
60B, 61 & 62 Dronningens Gade
St. Thomas, VI 00801
nsekou1@hotmail.com

CUBE term expires 2020 – currently serving 2nd term

 
Caroll Turpin

Caroll Turpin
Pontiac School District
47200 Woodward Ave.
Pontiac, MI 48342
caroll.turpin@pontiacschools.org

CUBE term expires 2019 – currently serving 2nd term


Susan Valdes

Marque Snow
Omaha Public Schools
3215 Cuming Street
Omaha, NE  68131
Marque.snow@ops.org

CUBE term expires 2021

Martha Wilson

Martha Wilson
Camden City School District
201 North Front St.
Camden, NJ 08102
mfwilson@camden.k12.nj.us

CUBE term expires 2021 – currently serving 2nd term


CUBE Staff Support

Verjeana M. Jacobs, Esq.
Chief Equity & Member Services Officer
vjacobs@nsba.org

 
Lucy Berrier

Lucy Berrier
Program Lead, Equity Program
(703) 838-6752 (office)
lberrier@nsba.org

Myra Maxwell

Myra Maxwell
Sr. Program Associate, Equity & Governance
(703) 838-6716 (office)
mmaxwell@nsba.org

Go to top