Services

Steering Committee

steering committee, diverse group of students in the classroom

Houston ISD/Dave Einsel: www.houstonisd.org

Our CUBE Leadership Team

The Council of Urban Boards of Education (CUBE) is guided by a steering committee that seeks to foster effective school board governance in urban school districts. The steering committee is comprised of 16 school board members elected by representatives of the school districts participating in the CUBE program. The president and executive director of NSBA serve as ex officio members.

Steering committee members are elected to a three-year term. The committee elects its chair and vice chair, and the chair also serves as a voting member of the NSBA Board of Directors.

Officers

Micah Ali

Chair and NSBA Director

Micah Ali
Compton Unified School District
501 S. Santa Fe Drive
Compton, CA 90221
(301) 639-4321 (district phone)
(301) 632-3014 (district fax)
mali@compton.k12.ca.us

Assistant: Bernetta Major-Thomas
bthomas@compton.k12.ca.us

CUBE term expires 2019 – currently serving 1st term

Rhonda Skillern-Jones

Vice Chair

Rhonda Skillern-Jones
Houston Independent School District
4400 West 18th Street
Houston, TX 77092
(713) 556-6121 (district phone)
(713) 556-6115 (district fax)
rskille2@houstonisd.org

Senior Writer: Yesenia Wence
ywences@houstonisd.org

CUBE term expires 2019 – currently serving 1st term

 

Ruth Veales

Secretary

Ruth Veales
Oklahoma City Public Schools
900 North Klein Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK 73106
(405) 587-0444 (district phone)
(405) 587-0180 (district fax)
ruthrena@yahoo.com

Secretary: Craig A. Cates
cacates@okcps.org

CUBE term expires 2019 – currently serving 2nd term

Bruce Alexander

Immediate Past Chair

Bruce Alexander
Akron Public Schools
70 North Broadway
Akron, OH 44308
(330) 761-1661 (district phone)
(330) 761-3225 (district fax)
bdalexander30@yahoo.com

Secretary: Ruth Solomon
rsolomon@akron.k12.oh.us

Currently serving 1st year as Immediate Past Chair

 

Members

Steve Corona

Steve Corona
Fort Wayne Community Schools
1200 S. Clinton
Fort Wayne, IN 46802
(260) 467-2025 (district phone)
(260) 467-1975 (district fax)
scorona428@gmail.com

Board Assistant: Barbara Trout
barbara.trout@fwcs.k12.in.us

CUBE term expires 2018—currently serving 1st term

Ericka Ellis-Stewart

Ericka Ellis-Stewart
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools
P.O. Box 30035
Charlotte, NC 28230
(980) 343-5139 (district phone)
(980) 343-7128 (district fax)
ericka.ellis-stewart@cms.k12.nc.us

Secretary: Yvette Blakeney
andreas.blakeney@cms.k12.nc.us

CUBE term expires 2019—currently serving 2nd term

 

Ray Freeman
Warrensville Heights City Schools
4500 Warrensville Center Rd
Warrensville Heights, OH 44128
(216) 865-4733 (district phone)
(216) 921-5837 (district fax)
ray.freeman@whcsd.org

Secretary: Alicia Durett
alicia.durett@whcsd.org

CUBE term expires 2020 – currently serving 1st term

Martha James-Hassan
Baltimore City Schools
200 E North Ave, Rm 406
Baltimore, MD 21202
(443) 984-2000 (district phone)
(410) 545-3613 (district fax)
mjames-hassan@bcps.k12.md.us

Secretary: Tenesha Moore
TMoore02@bcps.k12.md.us

CUBE term expires 2020 – currently serving 1st term

 

Jayme Mathias
Austin Independent School District
1111 W 6th St
Austin TX 78703
(512) 414-2413 (district phone)
jayme@jaymemathias.com

Secretary: Elaine Hopkins
elaine.hopkins@austinisd.org

CUBE term expires 2020 – currently serving 1st term

Leah Puryear
Charlottesville City Schools
1562 Dairy Rd
Charlottesville, VA 22903
(434) 245-2400 (district phone)
(434) 245-2603 (district fax)
lcp6f@virginia.edu

Secretary: Leslie Thacker
Leslie.Thacker@charlottesvilleschools.org

CUBE term expires 2020 – currently serving 1st term

 

Jacinto Ramos, Jr.
Fort Worth Independent School District
100 N. University Dr.
Fort Worth, TX 76164-8621
(817) 871-2000 (district phone)
(817) 971-8328 (cell phone)
jacinto.ramos@fwisd.org

Secretary: Laura Litton
laura.litton@fwisd.org

CUBE term expires 2020 – currently serving 1st term

Nandi Sekou
U.S. Virgin Islands Board of Education
P. O. Box 11900
60B, 61 & 62 Dronningens Gade
St. Thomas, VI 00801
(340) 774-4546 (district phone)
(340) 774-3384 (district fax)
nsekou1@hotmail.com

Secretary: Carol Henneman
cohenneman@myviboe.com

CUBE term expires 2020 – currently serving 2nd term

 

Keith Sutton

Keith Sutton
Wake County Public School System
5625 Dillard Drive
Cary, NC 27518
(919) 431-7400 (district phone)
(919) 431-7563 (district fax)
ksutton@wcpss.net

Secretary: Melissa Allen
mrallen@wcpss.net

CUBE term expires 2018 – currently serving 1st term

Caroll Turpin

Caroll Turpin
Pontiac School District
47200 Woodward Ave.
Pontiac, MI 48342
(248) 451-6800 (district phone)
(248) 451-6890 (district fax)
caroll.turpin@pontiacschools.org

Secretary: Cynthia Wright
cynthia.wright@pontiacschools.org

CBE term expires 2019 – currently serving 2nd term

 

Susan Valdes

Susan Valdes
Hillsborough County School District
901 East Kennedy Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33602
(813) 272-4052 (district phone)
(813) 272-4022 (district fax)
Susan.Valdes@sdhc.k12.fl.us

Assistant: Virginia Vasquez
virginia.vasquez@sdhc.k12.fl.us

CUBE term expires 2018 – currently serving 1st term

Martha Wilson

Martha Wilson
Camden City School District
201 North Front St.
Camden, NJ 08102
(856) 966-2000 (district phone)
(856) 966-2161 (district fax)
mfwilson@camden.k12.nj.us

Board Assistant: Tremaine Johnson
tremainejohnson@camden.k12.nj.us

CUBE term expires 2018 – currently serving 1st term

 

Ex-Officio Members

Kevin E. Ciak

NSBA President

Kevin E. Ciak
Parlin, NJ
Sayreville School District
kciak@nsba.org

Thomas J. Gentzel

NSBA Executive Director

Thomas J. Gentzel
(703) 838-6730 (office)
(703) 548-5613 (office fax)
tgentzel@nsba.org

 

CUBE Staff Support

Ron Skinner

Ron Skinner, CAE
Chief Member Services Officer
(703) 838-6771 (office)
rskinner@nsba.org

Myra Maxwell

Lucy Berrier
Program Lead, Equity Program
(703) 838-6752 (office)
lberrier@nsba.org

 

Myra Maxwell

Myra Maxwell
Sr. Program Associate, Equity & Governance
(703) 838-6716 (office)
mmaxwell@nsba.org

Justin Anderson

Justin Anderson
Equity Program Assistant
(703) 838-6765 (office)
janderson@nsba.org

 

 
Go to top