Meet the Board

Student and teacher conversing

Houston ISD/Dave Einsel:

National Caucus of American Indian/Alaska Native Board of Directors

AIAN’s Regional Directors and Executive Committee members are leaders in the effort to support and enhance the education of American Indian and Alaska Native students. 


Rodney Schilt
Strang, OK
Adair Public School District
(Term Expires 2019)



David Snyder
Ft. Washakie, WY​
Fremont County School District #21
(Term Expires 2019)



Carla Mann
Fort Washakie, WY
Fremont County School District #21
(Term Expires 2019)


Immediate Past Chair

Roy Nelson
Blackduck, MN
Red Lake School District
(Term Expires 2019)



Darlene “Shelly” Yarbrough
Perris, CA
Val Verde Unified School District
(Term Expires 2019)



Regional Directors

Central Region

Aaron L. Stevens
Richmond, IN
Richmond Community Schools

(Term Expires 2020)


Southern Region

Jennifer Thompson
Cherokee, NC
Cherokee Central Schools
(Term Expires 2019) 


Northeast Region

Lydia Tedone
Simsbury, CT 
Simsbury Public Schools

(Term Expires 2019)


Western Region


Pacific Region

Michael Swain, Jr.
King Salmon, AK
Bristol Bay Borough School District
(Term Expires 2020)


NSBA Caucus Liaison Staff

Frank C. Pugh
NSBA President

Tom Gentzel
NSBA Executive Director & CEO

Verjeana M. Jacobs, Esq.
Chief Equity & Member Services Officer

Myra Maxwell
Sr. Program Associate, Equity & Governance

Go to top