Press Releases

View NSBA’s (official) media releases.

Alexandria, Va. (July 25, 2018) - The National School Boards Association (NSBA) applauds the bipartisan effort that has resulted in the reauthorization of the Carl D. Perkins Career and Technical Education Act (CTE Act).

The NSBA's Center for Public Education (CPE) explores the differences between teaching in Finland and the United States. 

Alexandria, Va., (July 3, 2018) – The National School Boards Association (NSBA) announces the launch of Cyber Secure Schools initiative, a key source of information, tools, and resources, to help districts and schools enhance the security of their networks


NSBA Executive Director & CEO Thomas J. Gentzel today released the following statement in response to the Supreme Court’s Decision in South Dakota v. Wayfair, Inc., et al.:

Alexandria, Va., June 18, 2018 -- The National School Boards Association (NSBA) announces it has named Verjeana M. Jacobs, Esquire, as Chief Equity and Member Services Officer to lead NSBA’s work to attain educational equity for public schoolchildren through local school board governance.

NSBA delivered the following remarks before the U.S. Department of Education Federal Commission on School Safety Listening Session on June 6, 2018:

NSBA today released the following statement in response to the “Active Shooter” video game:

Alexandria, Va., (April 11, 2018) - NSBA's Black Council of School Board Members (NBC) presented its Recognizing Innovative Strategies in Equity (RISE) Award to Hillsborough County Public Schools, Tampa, Florida, during NSBA’s Annual Conference in San Antonio, April 7-9. In its inaugural year, the RISE Award honors a school board for its excellence in policies, practices, and strategies that promote and enhance equitable outcomes and career readiness for African American students.

Alexandria, Va. (April 9, 2018) - NSBA today announces its president and board leadership for 2018-19: Frank C. Pugh of California’s Santa Rosa City Schools District, President; Beth Branham of South Carolina’s Lexington School District Two, President-elect; and Charlie E. Wilson of Columbus, Ohio’s Worthington City Schools, Secretary-Treasurer. Kevin E. Ciak of New Jersey’s Sayreville Public Schools will now serve as Immediate Past-President.

(April 9, 2018) - The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts today announced the Guilford County Schools Board of Education in Greensboro, North Carolina, has received the 30th annual Kennedy Center and National School Boards Association (NSBA) Award.


Go to top