Benjamin Elijah Mays Lifetime Achievement Award

Honoring an Individual Who Has Made a Difference

The Benjamin Elijah Mays Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual who—during his or her lifetime—has demonstrated a longstanding commitment to the educational needs of urban school children through his or her service as a local school board member. Presented annually by CUBE, this award is open to any current or former school board member in a district in good standing with its state school boards association and CUBE.

How Do I Apply

The 2017 The Benjamin Elijah Mays Lifetime Achievement Award Application is closed and no longer accepting applications.

About Benjamin Elijah Mays

Dr. Benjamin Elijah Mays is remembered for his outstanding leadership and service as a scholar, teacher, minister, mentor, author, and civil rights activist. Dr. Mays became a member of the Atlanta Board of Education in 1969 and served as its president from 1970-1981, where he tirelessly worked to provide equal educational opportunities for children. He died on March 28, 1984.

Past Winners

2017: Vince Ford, Columbia (SC)
2017: Dr. Steve Gallon, Miami (FL)
2016: Cheryl D. Mayes, Nashville (TN)
2015: Curtis T. Walker, Minister of Beth-El A.M.E. Zion Church in Cleveland, OH
2014: Lock Beachum (OH)
2014: Dr. Elizabeth Daniels (VA) - award posthumously
2013: Jerrelle Francois, Baltimore (MD)
2012: Dr. Joseph A. Buck, Savannah Chatham County (GA)
2011: Ms. Eva Carrillo Dong, Tucson (AZ)
2010: Mr. Henry J. Godfrey, Hampton (VA)
2009: Dr. John Harding Lucas, Sr., Durham (NC)
2008: Dr. Ulysses Van Spiva, Virginia Beach (VA)
2007: Dr. Benjamin Elijah Mays, Atlanta (GA) – awarded posthumously

Go to top