Press Releases

View NSBA’s (official) media releases.

Alexandria, Va., (March 7, 2019) – Winchester Public Schools, Winchester, Virginia; Coatesville Area School District, Thorndale, Pennsylvania; and Des Moines Public Schools, Des Moines, Iowa, are the grand-prize winners in the 25th annual Magna Awards program sponsored by the National School Boar

NSBA today issued the following statement in response to the U.S. Secretary of Education's latest federal voucher proposal:

In response to the U.S. Department of Education's call for an expansion of the D.C. voucher program, NSBA Executive Director and CEO Thomas J. Gentzel released the following statement:

NSBA launched an initiative to advocate for the reauthorization and full funding of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). NSBA will highlight the critical need for the federal government to fulfill a long overdue promise to provide equal access to public education for all students and work with Congress to update this vital law.

School boards have worked diligently and consistently for many years to enhance security, and they continue to take action to protect students, teachers, administrators and visitors. They are engaged in a constant effort to create safe environments, and to ensure that public schools are sanctuaries for learning and teaching. Schools have produced safe environments for tens of millions of students, and they are among the safest places for children.

We are pleased to announce that UnitedHealthcare is NSBA’s Health and Wellness Partner.

Alexandria, Va., (October 16, 2018)— The Center for Public Education (CPE), a research arm of the National School Boards Association (NSBA) announced today the release of A Ne

NSBA's Council of Urban Boards of Education (CUBE) announces Jennings School District, Missouri; Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, North Carolina; and Forth Worth Independent School District, Texas; winners of the 2018 Award for Urban School Board Excellence.


NSBA's Council of Urban Boards of Education (CUBE) is pleased to announce Cardell C. Patillo, Jr., board member and Finance Chair of the Portsmouth, Virginia School Board, winner of the 2018 Benjamin Elijah Mays Lifetime Achievement Award.

In response to the 2018 PDK Poll, NSBA Executive Director & CEO, Thomas J. Gentzel issued the following statement:


Go to top