The National School Boards Association’s (NSBA) Council of Urban Boards of Education (CUBE) is pleased to announce that Micah Ali of Compton Unified School District in California was elected to serve as the council’s chair. Shavonna Holman of Omaha Public Schools in Nebraska was elected Vice Chair and Ty G. Jones of Lancaster Independent School District in Texas was elected Secretary.


“Urban districts continue to experience the complex challenges of the pandemic and its harsh impact on students and school staff, making urban leaders especially integral in understanding and responding to students academic and developmental needs,” said John Heim, NSBA Executive Director and CEO. “I congratulate the new CUBE Steering Committee members and look forward to working with Micah Ali in ensuring equity in education and the advancement of the conditions under which all students learn best and thrive.” 


Micah Ali

A national leader on education policy, Micah Ali has been at the forefront of efforts to broaden access to education and early care for low-income children, establish school-based health centers in local communities, and expand opportunities for academic excellence in public schoolsAli was first elected to the Compton Unified School District (CUSD) Governing Board of Trustees in 2007During his tenure CUSD erased a $39 million debt and made historic improvements in graduation rates across the district. 


“I am both honored and ecstatic to have the opportunity again to serve as CUBE Chairman,” said Ali. “I truly believe we stand upon a seminal moment in our work on behalf of students in urban school districts—one marked by an unprecedented opportunity to lead our real and sustained transformation. I look forward to locking arms with my esteemed fellow board members as we carve out a path marked by innovations and positive impact. Thank you to the NSBA community for their support and trust.” 


Shavonna Holman

Dr. Shavonna Holman joined the school board for Omaha Public Schools in 2017 and was unanimously elected president of the board in January 2020.Since 2013, she has served as an Assistant Professor of Educational Administration and the Coordinator of the MEd Program at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln. Prior to her roles in higher education, Holman dedicated over 10 years to the public education sector serving both as an elementary teacher and elementary principal in diverse, urban settings.


Ty G. Jones

Ty Jones serves as the vice president of the Lancaster Independent School District Board of Trustees. An advocate for student outcomes, he also serves as President of the Leadership TASB (Texas Association of School Boards) Alumni Executive Board, is the Immediate Past President of the Texas Caucus of Black School Board Members, and Chair of the Governance in Education Commission of the National and Texas Alliances of Black School Educators. Jones was an educator for over 20 years and served as an elementary school teacher and a central administrator. 


Additionally, the following individuals were elected or reelected to the Steering Committee to serve until April 2022:


  • Gill Garrett, Pontiac School District (MI)

  • Khem Irby, Guilford County Schools (NC)

  • Pedro Lopez, Cartwright Unified School District 83 (AZ)

  • Minister Wasim Muhammad, Camden City School District (NJ)

  • David Murray, Prince George’s County Public schools (MD)

  • Joel Rodriguez, School City of East Chicago (IN)

  • Robert Selders, Jr., Garland Independent School District (TX)

  • Sequanna Taylor, Milwaukee Public Schools (WI)


CUBE creates opportunities for urban school board leaders to gain the knowledge and skills needed to serve as effective local education policymakers and advocates for historically underserved students. The council supports excellence in urban school board leadership and is committed to providing each student an equal opportunity to receive a high-quality education.

For more information about CUBE, and NSBA’s other councils, the National American Indian and Alaska Native Council of School Board MembersNational Black Council of School Board Members, and the National Hispanic Council of School Board Members, please visit our website:

Around NSBA

Six students conduct a science experiment with potatoes and electrodes.

2024 Magna Awards: Silver Award Winners

The 2024 Magna Awards program recognizes 15 exemplary district programs in three enrollment categories as Silver Award winners.