The National School Boards Association’s (NSBA) Council of Urban Boards of Education (CUBE) is pleased to announce that Jacinto Ramos, Jr. of Texas’ Fort Worth Independent School District was re-elected to serve as the council’s chair. Steve Gallon of Miami-Dade County Public Schools, Florida, was re-elected Vice-Chair and Joyce Morley of DeKalb County School District, Georgia, was re-elected Secretary.

Having served on the board of Texas’ fifth largest school district since 2013, Jacinto Ramos understands the unique challenges urban centers face in meeting the needs of underrepresented students. In his home district, 89% are students of color and 77% are economically disadvantaged. Ramos and his local board have passed a racial and ethnic equity policy, invested in underperforming schools, and established an official holiday to celebrate labor and civil rights leaders Dolores Huerta and César Chávez.

Ramos also serves as chief of board governance and leadership at Leadership Independent School District. A probation officer for the state of Texas for many years, Ramos supervises the process by which families can resolve child support issues without going to court.

Steve Gallon is the Vice-Chair and elected District 1 School Board Member for Miami-Dade County Schools, Florida. A former classroom teacher, principal, and superintendent, Gallon was the recipient of CUBE’ s 2017 Benjamin Elijah Mays Lifetime Achievement Award.

Joyce Morley is a former educator and professor at the post-secondary level. A licensed psychotherapist, Morley has served as an International Delegate for the World Mental Health Organization and as secretary, treasurer, and chair of the Board of Trustees for the National Board for Certified Counselors Foundation.

We are also pleased to announce that as a result of the CUBE elections, the following individuals were elected or re-elected to the Steering Committee:

Ray Freeman, Warrensville Heights City School District, Ohio;
Curtis Valentine, Prince George's County Public Schools, Maryland;
Marques Ivey, Aurora Public Schools, Colorado;
Ty G. Jones, Lancaster Independent School District, Texas; and
Cindy Stuart, Hillsborough County Public Schools, Florida. 

One of NSBA equity councils, CUBE creates opportunities for urban school board leaders to gain the knowledge and skills needed to serve as effective local education policymakers and advocates for underserved students. The council supports excellence in urban school board leadership and is committed to providing all students equal opportunity to receive a high-quality education.

For more information about CUBE, or NSBA’s other equity councils, the National Black Council of School Board Members, the National American Indian and Alaska Native Council of School Board Members, and the National Hispanic Council of School Board Members, please visit our website:

Around NSBA

Six students conduct a science experiment with potatoes and electrodes.

2024 Magna Awards: Silver Award Winners

The 2024 Magna Awards program recognizes 15 exemplary district programs in three enrollment categories as Silver Award winners.