NSBA announces President Frank Pugh and new board leadership

The National School Boards Association (NSBA) today announces its president and board leadership for 2018-19: Frank C. Pugh of California’s Santa Rosa City Schools District, President; Beth Branham of South Carolina’s Lexington School District Two, President-elect; and Charlie E. Wilson of Columbus, Ohio’s Worthington City Schools, Secretary-Treasurer. Kevin E. Ciak of New Jersey’s Sayreville Public Schools will now serve as Immediate Past-President.

NSBA’s 150 school board member Delegate Assembly held the leadership elections during NSBA’s Annual Conference, April 7-9, in San Antonio, Texas. In addition to the elected officers, chairs of NSBA’s councils will serve as ex-officio directors. The chairs for the Councils were chosen by their respective committees.

“Every child deserves access to a 21st century public education that prepares them for college, career and future success,” said Thomas J. Gentzel, NSBA Executive Director & CEO. “Our officers and Board of Directors have a significant role in our ongoing commitment to ensure our country’s schoolchildren have the opportunity to receive a high-quality education so they can realize their full potential.”

“I congratulate Frank Pugh, NSBA’s new president, and welcome the new members of the board and appointments to the board. Together the board and leadership will work diligently to provide valuable resources to our members, secure federal policies that ensure public education continues to improve to meet students’ needs today and into the future, create a better understanding of the importance and benefits of the role of school boards and local governance, and generate greater appreciation for our local public schools.”

Frank Pugh has demonstrated a long-standing commitment to advancing public education and serving in the best interests of students, families, and their communities. Pugh served as President of the California School Boards Association (CSBA) in 2010 and was elected to NSBA’s Board of Directors in 2011. He has been a Santa Rosa City Schools board member for 28 years. He will continue his tireless and determined efforts to advocate for students and public schools as NSBA’s president.

NSBA is dedicated to addressing educational equity and advancing student learning and achievement for every student. The new board embraces this important mission. Through years of work on their local school boards, each of the members of the board are uniquely positioned to champion equity and continue the association’s efforts in support of public education and our country’s 50 million public school children.

NSBA’s 2018-2019 board members include

from the Northeast Region

  • Jacob Oliveira, Ludlow Public Schools, Massachusetts
  • Nandi Sékou, Virgin Islands Board of Education, Virgin Islands
  • Lydia Tedone, Simsbury Board of Education, Connecticut

from the Southern Region

  • Robert F. Alvey, Jr., Jackson Madison County Board of Education, Tennessee
  • Pamela Doyle, Alabama School of Math and Science Representing Robert Aderholt Congressional District, Alabama
  • Viola Garcia, Aldine Independent School District, Texas

from the Central Region

  • Kathryn Green, Austin School District, Minnesota
  • Donald Hubler, L’Anse Creuse Public Schools District and Macomb Intermediate School District, Michigan
  • Mike Pratte, Gasconade County R-I School District, Missouri

from the Western Region

  • Frank S. Henderson Jr., Seaman United School District 345, Kansas
  • Neil Putnam, Mitchell School District #17-2, South Dakota
  • Dr. Floyd Simon, Jr., Clinton Public Schools, Oklahoma

from the Pacific Region

  • Tiffany Jackson, Aleutians East Borough School District, Alaska
  • JoDee Sundberg, Alpine School District, Utah
  • Chris Ungar, San Luis Coastal Unified School District, California

serving as NSBA ex-officio directors

  • Micah Ali, Chair, Council of Urban Boards of Education – school board member, Compton Unified School District, California
  • Steve Corona, Chair of the National Hispanic Council of School Board Members – school board member, Fort Wayne Community Schools, Fort Wayne, Indiana
  • Carla Windfont, Chair of the National Black Council of School Board Members - school board member, Crosby Independent School District, Texas

serving as NSBA ex-officio non-voting directors

  • Dr. Shawn Hime, Chair of the Organization of State Association Executive Directors.  Dr. Hime is the executive director of the Oklahoma State School Boards Association in Oklahoma City.
  • Diane Marshall-Freeman, Chair of the Council of School Attorneys. Ms. Marshall-Freeman is general counsel to the California Interscholastic Federation and a partner at Fagen Friedman & Fulfrost LLP.
  • Rodney R. Schilt, Chair of the National American Indian/Alaska Native Council of School Board Members
  • Thomas J. Gentzel, Executive Director & CEO of the National School Boards Association
Go to top