NSBA announces 2017-18 board leadership

School board leader Kevin E. Ciak of New Jersey’s Sayreville Public Schools was elected as the 70th president of the National School Boards Association at its Annual Conference in Denver.

Frank C. Pugh of California’s Santa Rosa City Schools District was elected president-elect, and Beth Branham of South Carolina’s Lexington School District Two was elected secretary-treasurer by NSBA’s 150-member Delegate Assembly on March 25. Miranda A. Beard of Mississippi’s Laurel School District, who served as NSBA’s 2016-17 president, will now serve as immediate past-president.

Ciak was elected a member of NSBA’s Board of Directors in April 2011. He served as president of the New Jersey School Boards Association (NJSBA) from 2006-08, vice president from 2003-2006, and as a member of the NJSBA’s legislative committee and the association’s representative to the NJSBA Insurance Group Board of Trustees. Ciak has been a member of the Sayreville Board of Education for over 20 years.

NSBA’s Executive Director and CEO Thomas J. Gentzel commended the new board leadership for its commitment on behalf of public education.

“More than 50 million children across the country receive a world-class public education and each year we slowly but steadily raise student achievement,” said Gentzel. “We are educating more children to a higher standard because of the dedication and efforts of education leaders representing the interests of schoolchildren in our communities. I congratulate Kevin Ciak, NSBA’s new president, and the new members of the board and appointments to the board--each a committed leader and advocate contributing to that progress.”

NSBA’s 2017-2018 board members include: 

From the Northeast Region:

Jacob Oliveira, Ludlow School Committee, Massachusetts

Nandi Sékou, Virgin Islands Board of Education, Virgin Islands

Lydia Tedone, Simsbury Board of Education, Connecticut

From the Southern Region:

Robert F. Alvey, Jr., Jackson-Madison County Board of Education, Tennessee

Pamela Doyle, Alabama School of Math and Science Representing Robert Aderholt Congressional District, Alabama

Viola Garcia, Aldine Independent School District, Texas

From the Central Region:

Eric K. Germann, Lincolnview Local and Vantage Career Center, Ohio

Donald Hubler, L’Anse Creuse Public Schools District and Macomb Intermediate School District, Michigan

Charlie Wilson, Worthington School District, Ohio

From the Western Region:

Frank S. Henderson Jr., Seaman United School District 345, Kansas

Neil Putnam, Mitchell School District #17-2, South Dakota

Dr. Floyd Simon, Jr., Clinton Public Schools, Oklahoma

From the Pacific Region:

Tiffany Jackson, Aleutians East Borough School District, Alaska

Jesus Rubalcava, Gila Bend United School District #24, Arizona

JoDee Sundberg, Alpine, Utah

Serving as NSBA ex-officio directors on the board for 2017-18 are:

Micah Ali, Chair of the Council of Urban Boards of Education – school board member, Compton Unified School District, California

Steve Corona, Chair of the National Hispanic Council of School Board Members – school board member, Fort Wayne Community Schools, Fort Wayne, Indiana

Dr. Emma Turner, Chair of the National Black Council of School Board Members - school board member, La Mesa-Spring Valley School District, California

Serving as NSBA ex-officio non-voting directors on the board for 2017-18 are:

Pilar Sokol, Chair of the Council of School Attorneys -- deputy general counsel, New York State School Boards Association

Shawn Hime, Chair of the Organization of State Association Executive Directors -- executive director of the Oklahoma School Boards Association in Oklahoma City

Thomas J. Gentzel, Executive Director & CEO, National School Boards Association


Read our press release at:


Go to top