Minnesota School Boards Association recognized for future thinking strategy

- Pictured from left: Kathy Green, MSBA President-elect; Kirk Schneidawind, MSBA’s Executive Director; Miranda Beard, NSBA President; Kevin Donovan, MSBA president; John Tuttle, NSBA Immediate past-President; Kevin Ciak, NSBA President-elect; and Frank Pugh, NSBA Secretary-Treasurer

This past weekend NSBA presented its first annual Innovation Award to the Minnesota School Boards Association (MSBA). Kevin Donovan, president of MSBA accepted the award on behalf of the association at NSBA’s Summer Leadership Seminar, Aug. 13, in Chicago.

The new award was created to recognize the innovative and outstanding work of state school boards associations—particularly as they work in partnership with their member school boards to raise student achievement. The winner, MSBA, has developed a forward-thinking strategic plan that’s designed to help build a better education system in its state—one that better meets the needs of all children.

"Creativity and innovation are vital components in the classroom, the boardroom, and as lifelong pursuits,” said Thomas J. Gentzel, executive director for NSBA. “MSBA took a creative approach to problem solving and critical thinking that is already making an impact within the association and its member districts, exemplifying a pathway toward enhanced member service and renewed student focus.”

Hear from Donovan, and Kirk Schneidawind, MSBA’s Executive Director about how MSBA is working to become a forward thinking, future thinking association in this short video.

2016 NSBA Innovation Award - Congrats MSBA!

Read more in our press release.

Go to top