Akron Public Schools Board Member recipient of Lifetime Achievement Award

At its 48th Annual Conference held on October 1-3, in Phoenix, Arizona, the National School Boards Association’s (NSBA’s) Council of Urban Boards of Education (CUBE) awarded Akron Public Schools Board Member, Reverend Dr. Curtis T. Walker Sr., with the 2015 Benjamin Elijah Mays Lifetime Achievement Award.

A minister of Beth-El African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church in Cleveland, Ohio, Walker has served as a member of the Board of Education of the Akron City School District since 2000. Walker served as President of the Board of Education in 2006 and again for two back-to-back one-year terms during 2010 and 2011, providing outstanding leadership and guidance to the Board. Currently on the Joint Board of Review, Walker represented the Akron Board of Education while serving as Vice President of the Ohio School Boards Association’s (OSBA) Black Caucus during 2011. Walker also served as the Northeast Region representative on the OSBA Legislation Platform Committee during 2013.

“NSBA presents the Benjamin Elijah Mays Lifetime Achievement Award to individuals who demonstrate long-standing commitment to the educational needs of urban school children,” said Thomas J. Gentzel, Executive Director, National School Boards Association. “Reverend Dr. Walker through his dedication and service been an outstanding advocate and champion for student achievement in his community.”

More information on CUBE and past winners of the Benjamin Elijah Mays Lifetime Achievement Award is available on CUBE’s webpage.

Go to top