Recognition Programs

teachers with robots

Houston ISD/Dave Einsel:

Recognition for Your Innovation

20 to Watch 

Who are the "20 to Watch"?

Established in 2006 as a part of the 20th anniversary celebration of NSBA's Technology and Learning Conference, the program identifies emerging education technology leaders who have the potential to impact the field for the next 20 years.

While primarily focused on K-12 teachers, administrators, and school board members, nominations are also invited from higher education, policy, association, and industry organizations. Meet the 2016 "20 to Watch" honorees.

See the complete list of previous “20 to Watch” honorees by year or by state

Digital School Boards Survey

Who Are the Digital School Boards?

The Survey recognizes school districts and school boards across the U.S. who have been exceptionally successful in using technology to improve:

  • Interactions with students, parents, and community
  • District governance
  • District operations

Participation in the survey is open to all U.S. public school districts, which compete for recognition within three enrollment categories: 3,000 students or less; 3,000-12,000 students; and 12,000 students or more.

Districts which demonstrate the most comprehensive use of digital standards are chosen as the top ten-ranking districts.

The annual survey is a collaboration between e.Republic’s Center for Digital Education, the National School Boards Association, and Converge Online magazine.

Annual Technology Innovation Showcase

What is the Showcase?

The Technology Innovation Showcase is a bridge between the exciting entrepreneurial activities underway in the K-12 market and school board members and district leaders. Learn more

Who Does the Showcase Honor?

Designed to build awareness of innovations and emerging technologies in the education market, the Showcase highlights six companies each year that represent a sample of innovative solutions positively impacting one of four key areas of the K-12 enterprise:

  • Teaching and learning
  • Administrative operations
  • Parental outreach
  • Community engagement

Salute Districts

From 1992 - 2012, select school districts were honored by NSBA's Technology Leadership Network (TLN) for their technology achievements each year.

Who Are the Salute Districts?

Salute Districts exemplify the good things that can happen when technology is well-implemented:

  • Collaboration and teamwork
  • Continuous improvement
  • Parental engagement
  • Seamless integration of technology across district operations and the curriculum
  • Support of all students

This recognition frequently provides national press coverage for the ranked districts.

TLN Salute and Trailblazer Awards

First given in 2002, the Trailblazer Award is reserved for previous TLN Salute Districts that have surpassed their first recognition.

Districts Trailblazer has recognized
  • 2002: Henrico County Public Schools, Virginia, for establishing the largest district laptop program in the nation.
  • 2004: Community Consolidated School District #15, Illinois, recognizing its special accomplishment as a Malcolm Baldrige Award winner.
  • 2006: Calcasieu Parish Public Schools, Louisiana, for comprehensive technology planning that allowed the district to serve students, faculty, and community after Hurricane Rita.
  • 2010: Township High School District 214, Illinois for its long-term commitment to innovative practices and laser-like focus to address the learning challenges experienced by low-performing student groups.
  • 2012: Orange City Schools, Ohio, for its visionary leadership and commitment to ensuring technology supports both student learning and community engagement. 

Previous TLN Salute Districts (Link to List)

Has your district accomplished something extraordinary since your initial recognition as a TLN Salute District? Please describe the new initiative in an email to Ann Flynn.

Go to top