Services

How to Join COSA

Children in a classroom raising their hands

Houston ISD/Dave Einsel: www.houstonisd.org

Become Part of a Network of School Law Colleagues

Through its direct affiliation with NSBA and its Office of General Counsel, we provide our members with the latest updates on national education law trends, federal regulatory happenings, court decisions of national interest, and amicus activity of NSBA. We also provide opportunities to participate in working groups involved in policy guidance and formation.

Through its more than 3,000 members across the United States and Canada, and its partnership with 38 affiliated state councils, we bring you exclusive access to the collective wisdom of school attorneys who do exactly what you do, and ties you in to NSBA’s highly respected advocacy work on behalf of public schools.

Our online discussion forum connects our member attorneys in an ongoing, searchable conversation on school law issues you are addressing with your clients.

This means you get on-the-ground advice from your colleagues on how they are guiding school boards through changes in the law.

Membership Criteria

Membership is open to attorneys at law who are licensed to practice before the highest court in any state of the United States, or before a court of record in the United States and who are (or have been within the last two years) attorneys for a local public school district, a state association of school boards, or any public junior or community college.

Before you join, make sure you check to see if your state has an affiliated membership agreement and contact your state council of school attorneys.  See state affiliate membership chart below.

Sign Up as a School Law Subscriber

If you don’t qualify for COSA membership, you can sign up as a School Law Subscriber and receive access to the online issues of the Council’s newsletter Inquiry & Analysis, plus receive access to the presentation papers from the Council's Annual School Law Seminar. Download the enrollment form.

State Council Membership Contacts

Individual membership

For membership information in the following states, Alaska, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, New Jersey, Ohio, Rhode Island, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming and the District of Columbia, please contact NSBA's Council of School Attorneys at 703-838-6738 or efoskey@nsba.org. Many of these states also have a state council of school attorneys.  

Affiliated Membership

In the states listed below, contact the state council for membership information.

Alabama
Jayne Harrell Williams
Alabama Association of School Boards
334-277-9700
jwilliams@alabamaschoolboards.org
Arizona
Carrie Mintie
Arizona School Boards Association
602-254-1100
cmintie@azsba.org
Arkansas
Kathy Ivy
Arkansas School Boards Association
501-372-1415
kivy@arsba.org

California
Mary Biehl
California School Boards Association
916-371-4691 
mbiehl@csba.org

website

Colorado
Kathy Shannon
Colorado Association of School Boards
303-832-1000
kshannon@casb.org
Connecticut
Gail Heath
Connecticut Association of Boards of Education
860-571-7446
gheath@cabe.org 
Delaware
John Marinucci
Delaware School Boards Association
302-678-2265
jwmarinucci@verizon.net 
Florida
Mindy McNichols, Esq., B.C.S.
School Board of Miami-Dade County Attorney's Office
305-995-1927
mmcnichols@dadeschools.net
Georgia
Debbie Tweedell
Georgia School Boards Association
770-962-2985
dtweedell@gsba.com
Illinois
Bridget Trojan
Illinois Association of School Boards
217-528-9688
btrojan@iasb.com
Indiana
Lisa Tanselle
Indiana School Boards Association
317-639-0330
ltanselle@isba-ind.org
Iowa
Marte Brightman
Iowa Association of School Boards
515-288-1991
mbrightman@ia-sb.org
Kansas
Leslie Garner
Kansas Association of School Boards
785-273-3600
lgarner@kasb.org
Kentucky
Linda Minch
Kentucky School Boards Association
502-695-4630
linda.minch@ksba.org
Louisiana
Robert L. Hammonds
Hammonds & Sills
225-923-3462
rhammonds@hamsil.com
Maine
Angie Audette
Maine School Boards Association
207-622-3473
aaudette@msmaweb.com
Maryland
Edmund O'Meally
Maryland Council of Local School Board Attorneys
410-339-6757
eomeally@pklaw.com
Massachusetts
Carol Grazio
Massachusetts Assoc. of School Committees, Inc.
617-523-8454
cgrazio@masc.org
Michigan
Brad Banasik
Michigan Association of School Boards
517-327-5900
bbanasik@masb.org
Missouri
Scott Summers
Missouri School Boards Association
573-445-9920
summers@msbanet.org
Montana
Karla Smerker
Montana School Boards Association
406-442-2180
ksmerker@mtsba.org
Minnesota
Cathy Miller
Minnesota School Boards Association 
507-934-2450
cmiller@mnmsba.org
Mississippi
Darla Warren
Mississippi School Boards Association 
601-924-2001
djwarren@msbaonline.org
Nebraska
Vicki Winters
Nebraska Association of School Boards
402-423-4951
vwinters@nasbonline.org

New Hampshire
Amanda Hodgman 
New Hampshire School Boards Association
603-228-2061
amanda@nhsba.org

New Mexico
Carolyn Mole
New Mexico School Boards Association
505-983-5041
cmole@nmsba.org

New York
Gregory J. Guercio
New York State School Attorneys Association 
516-694-3000
dgiaquinto@guerciolaw.com

North Carolina
Debbie Shinbara
North Carolina School Boards Association
919-841-4040
dshinbara@ncsba.org
North Dakota
Linnae Brew
North Dakota School Boards Association
701-255-4127
linnae.brew@ndsba.org
Oklahoma
Andy Fugitt
Oklahoma School Board Attorneys Association Inc.
afugitt@cfel.com
Oregon
Maricela Highsmith
Oregon School Boards Association
503-588-2800
mhighsmith@osba.org
Pennsylvania
Katherine Fitz-Patrick
Pennsylvania School Boards Association
717-506-2450
katherine.fitz-patrick@psba.org
South Carolina
Sara Smith
South Carolina School Boards Association
803-988-0233
ssmith@scsba.org
South Dakota
Deanne Arbach
Associated School Boards of South Dakota
605-773-2500
deanne.arbach@asbsd.org

Tennessee
Jenna Zwan 
Tennessee School Boards Association
615-815-3905
jzwan@tsba.net

Kayce Kiningham, CMP
Director of Meetings & Planning
Tennessee School Boards Association
615-815-3908
kkiningham@tsba.net

 

Texas
Annette Moseley
Texas Association of School Boards
512-467-0222
annette.moseley@tasb.org
Virginia
Dorothy Vidano
Virginia School Boards Association
434-295-8722 
dorothy@vsba.org
West Virginia
Howard Seufer
West Virginia Council of School Attorneys
304-347-1776
hseufer@bowlesrice.com
Go to top