NSBA Announces 2017-2018 President Kevin Ciak and New Board Leadership

March 27, 2017

Alexandria, Va. (March 27, 2017) — The National School Boards Association (NSBA) today announces its president and board leadership for 2017-18:  Kevin E. Ciak of New Jersey’s Sayreville Public Schools, President; Frank C. Pugh of California’s Santa Rosa City Schools District, President-elect; Beth Branham of South Carolina’s Lexington School District Two, Secretary-Treasurer. Miranda A. Beard of Mississippi’s Laurel School District will now serve as Immediate Past-President.

“More than 50 million children across the country receive a world-class public education and each year we slowly but steadily raise student achievement,” said Thomas J. Gentzel, NSBA Executive Director and CEO. “We are educating more children to a higher standard because of the dedication and efforts of education leaders representing the interests of schoolchildren in our communities. I congratulate Kevin Ciak, NSBA’s new president, and the new members of the board and appointments to the board--each a committed leader and advocate contributing to that progress.”

NSBA’s 150 school board member Delegate Assembly held elections during NSBA’s Annual Conference, March 25-27, in Denver, Colorado. Before a crowd of nearly 6,000 conference attendees, Ciak called upon education leaders to “be an even stronger voice” to ensure the future success of our high school graduates of 2030. “The stakes are too high for us not to succeed,” said Ciak, on delivering the promise of a great education to all students.

“For over two decades as a school board member, Kevin has championed public education and as NSBA’s president he will continue to work tirelessly to ensure the next generation of high school graduates receive the best education possible.” stated Gentzel.

Ciak was elected a member of NSBA’s Board of Directors in April 2011. He served as President of the New Jersey School Boards Association (NJSBA) from 2006-08, Vice President from 2003-2006, and as a member of the NJSBA’s Legislative Committee and the Association’s representative to the NJSBA Insurance Group Board of Trustees. Ciak has been a member of the Sayreville Board of Education for over 20 years.

NSBA’s 2017-2018 board members include

from the Northeast Region

  • Jacob Oliveira, Ludlow School Committee, Massachusetts
  • Nandi Sékou, Virgin Islands Board of Education, Virgin Islands
  • Lydia Tedone, Simsbury Board of Education, Connecticut

from the Southern Region

  • Robert F. Alvey, Jr., Jackson-Madison County Board of Education, Tennessee
  • Pamela Doyle, Alabama School of Math and Science Representing Robert Aderholt Congressional District, Alabama
  • Viola Garcia, Aldine Independent School District, Texas

from the Central Region

  • Eric K. Germann, Lincolnview Local and Vantage Career Center, Ohio
  • Donald Hubler, L’Anse Creuse Public Schools District and Macomb Intermediate School District, Michigan
  • Charlie Wilson, Worthington School District, Ohio

from the Western Region

  • Frank S. Henderson Jr., Seaman United School District 345, Kansas
  • Neil Putnam, Mitchell School District #17-2, South Dakota
  • Dr. Floyd Simon, Jr., Clinton Public Schools, Oklahoma

from the Pacific Region

  • Tiffany Jackson, Aleutians East Borough School District, Alaska
  • Jesus Rubalcava, Gila Bend United School District #24, Arizona
  • JoDee Sundberg, Alpine, Utah

serving as NSBA ex-officio directors

  • Micah Ali, Chair, Council of Urban Boards of Education – school board member, Compton Unified School District, California
  • Steve Corona, Chair of the National Hispanic Council of School Board Members – school board member, Fort Wayne Community Schools, Fort Wayne, Indiana
  • Dr. Emma Turner, Chair of the National Black Council of School Board Members - school board member,  La Mesa-Spring Valley School District, California

serving as NSBA ex-officio non-voting directors

  • Pilar Sokol, Chair of the Council of School Attorneys.  Ms. Sokol is deputy general counsel, New York State School Boards Association
  • Shawn Hime, Chair of the Organization of State Association Executive Directors.  Mr. Hime is the executive director of the Oklahoma School Boards Association in Oklahoma City
  • Thomas J. Gentzel, Executive Director & CEO, National School Boards Association

# # #

The National School Boards Association (NSBA) is the leading advocate for public education and supports equity and excellence in public education through school board leadership. NSBA believes education is a civil right necessary to the dignity and freedom of the American people, and all children should have equal access to an education that maximizes his or her individual potential. The association represents state school boards associations and their more than 90,000 local school board members throughout the U.S.

Go to top