NSBA Announces 2015-2016 President John D. Tuttle and New Board Leadership

March 26, 2015

Alexandria, Va. (March 26, 2015) –John D. Tuttle of Oklahoma’s Kellyville Public Schools was named the 68th President of the National School Boards Association (NSBA), at its 75th Annual Conference in Nashville, TN.

Miranda Beard of Mississippi’s Laurel School District was elected President-elect and Kevin E. Ciak of New Jersey’s Sayreville School District was elected Secretary-Treasurer. Anne M. Byrne of New York’s Nanuet Union Free District who served as President, 2014-2015, will now serve as NSBA’s Immediate Past President.

Tuttle was elected to serve as a member of NSBA’s Board of Directors in 2007, and was re-elected in 2010. He served NSBA’s Board of Directors as a Director for the Western Region, was elected to the position of Secretary-Treasurer in 2013, and President-elect in 2014. A member of the Kellyville Board of Education in Kellyville, Oklahoma, Tuttle was elected to his first term in 1993. He has been a member of the Oklahoma State School Boards Association Board of Directors since 1998 and is a Past President.

“A staunch supporter of our state school boards associations, and committed public school advocate, John’s presidency comes at a pivotal time when NSBA is both celebrating its past 75 years of success and paving the way for its future,” said NSBA’s Executive Director Thomas J. Gentzel. 

After being handed the gavel at Annual Conference, Tuttle spoke of how he plans to focus his commitment on ensuring that public education remains vital and relevant for the success of all of our nation’s public schoolchildren. “I look forward to promoting public education and helping to get the message out about how public education does wonderful things every day in the lives of children all across this great country,” said Tuttle. “My message will not only be that we stand up for public education but also that we step up and speak up for public education as well.”

NSBA’s Delegate Assembly also elected the following school board members as regional directors to NSBA’s Board:

  • Lydia Tedone of Connecticut’s Simsbury Board of Education was elected as Northeast Region Director;
  • Frank S. Henderson of  Kansas’ Seaman USD 345 was elected as Western Region Director; and
  • Jacob R. Oliveira of Massachusetts’ Ludlow School Committee was elected as Northeast Region Director.

Serving as NSBA ex-officio directors on the NSBA Board for 2015-2016 will be:

  • Van Henri White of New York’s Rochester City School District as the Chair of the Council of Urban Boards of Education;
  • Ellis A. Alexander of Louisiana’s St. Charles Parish Public Schools as Chair of the National Black Council of School Board Members; 
  • Lillian Tafoya of California’s Bakersfield City School District as Chair of the National Hispanic Council of School Board Members;
  • Justino D. Petrarca of Illinois’ Scariano, Himes & Petrarca, as the Chair of the Council of School Attorneys; 
  • Dr. John Heim, Executive Director of the Kansas Association of School Boards as the Chair of the Organization of State Association Executive Directors’ Liaison Committee;
  • and NSBA’s Executive Director Thomas J. Gentzel.

# # #

The National School Boards Association (NSBA) is the leading advocate for public education and supports equity and excellence in public education through school board leadership. NSBA represents state school boards associations and their more than 90,000 local school board members throughout the U.S. Learn more at:

Go to top