Three School Districts Earn Top Honors in 2018 Magna for Equity Programs

Magna Magic in Illinois, Delaware and Virginia
March 13, 2018

Alexandria, Va., (March 13, 2018) – Leyden High School District 212, Franklin Park, Illinois; Red Clay Consolidated School District, Wilmington, Delaware; and Newport News Public Schools, Newport News, Virginia, are the grand-prize winners in the 24th annual Magna Awards program sponsored by the National School Boards Association’s flagship magazine, American School Board Journal (ASBJ). This year, the Magna Awards recognize school districts and their leaders for their efforts to bring educational equity to their students.

The Magna Awards, supported by Sodexo, a leader in delivering sustainable, integrated facilities management and food service operations, honor districts across the country for programs that break down barriers for underserved students. A panel of school board members, administrators, and other educators selected the winners from more than 100 submissions.

“Educational equity is a crucial issue today,” said Thomas J. Gentzel, National School Boards Association Executive Director & CEO. “These Magna Award winning districts are examples of how public schools all over the country are making sure each of their students gets the support and services they need to succeed in school and in life.”

This year’s three grand prize winners and 15 first place winners were selected from three enrollment categories: under 5,000 students, 5,000 to 20,000 students, and over 20,000 students. Each of the grand prize-winning school districts will give a special presentation at NSBA’s annual conference, to be held April 7 to 9 in San Antonio, Texas.

Grand Prize Winners

  • Under 5,000 enrollment: Teatro Leyden is a high school theater program that produces plays in both English and Spanish. The program gives Spanish-speaking students at Leyden Community High School District 212 in Franklin Park, Illinois a chance to highlight their talents and become more involved in the school community. Spanish-speaking parents feel more welcome at the school when they attend performances in their native language.

All 2018 winners are profiled in the April issue of ASBJ. Read their stories at ASBJ Breaking Down Barriers

First Place Winners

Under 5,000 students:

Ephrata Area School District, Ephrata, Pennsylvania, High School Attollo Program

Hinsdale School District, Hinsdale, New Hampshire, Extended Learning Opportunities

Lammersville Unified School District, Mountain House, California, Early College Pathway Program

Nanuet Public Schools, Nanuet, New York, Outdoor Education Center

Plainview-Old Bethpage Central School District, Plainview, New York, The After-School Group (TAG)

First Place Winners

5,000 to 20,000 students:

Clover Park School District, Lakewood, Washington, Open Doors Youth Re-Engagement Program

ISD 728 Elk River Area School District, Elk River, Minnesota, Creating Value Through Mindfulness and Nature

Livermore Valley Joint Unified School District, Livermore, California, Migrant Education Program

Parkway School District, St. Louis, Missouri, Whole-School Social Justice

Topeka Public Schools, Topeka, Kansas, Equity Institute

Over 20,000 students:

Anne Arundel County Public Schools, Annapolis, Maryland, Ninth-Grade Intentional Focus

Brownsville ISD, Brownsville, Texas, Extended Day Enrichment Program

Cypress-Fairbanks ISD, Houston, Texas, Camp Summit

Judson Independent School District, Live Oak, Texas, Literacy Mentors of Distinction

Prince William County Public Schools, Manassas, Virginia, Advanced Programs for All

# # #

The National School Boards Association (NSBA) is the leading advocate for public education and supports equity and excellence in public education through school board leadership. NSBA believes education is a civil right necessary to the dignity and freedom of the American people, and all children should have equal access to an education that maximizes his or her individual potential. The association represents state school boards associations and their more than 90,000 local school board members throughout the U.S.

Go to top