EDUCATION TECHNOLOGY UPDATE: Recognizing Innovation and Inspiration

By Ann Flynn
Director, Education Technology

Think about the educators you know. Who is that person that inspires others to try new things...especially when those "things" involve using technology? Who is always looking at the latest technology innovations and thinking "how or if it could be applicable to education"? 

The National School Boards Association started its "20 to Watch" recognition program in 2006 and has since identified 20 educators each year who reflect the emerging voices guiding conversations in their districts, states, and across the nation about how technology can support learning for the next 20 years!

Who to Nominate

“20 to Watch” honors educators who are:

  • passionate about using technology to transform teaching and learning
  • capable of inspiring their colleagues to embrace new tools
  • curious by nature
  • always thinking about how the next innovation can be applied to education

The Nomination Process

Please consider nominating a colleague. It is a simple process - three questions - with the questions asking how you have seen your nominee embrace technology and inspire their colleagues to join them on an "innovation journey."  Nominations are reviewed by former "20 to Watch" educators and the recognition will take place in Washington D.C. at CoSN's April 2016 conference.

Past Honorees

Past honorees range from superintendents and CTOs to classroom teachers and media specialists who cover the spectrum of innovation from solutions that support teaching and learning, district operations, parental engagement, or community outreach. Whether it be a media specialist in Georgia who transforms the school’s media center into an innovative learning environment, or a superintendent in Maryland who creates a five-year strategic plan for improved digital learning in his district, honorees run the gamut in terms of district location, size, and budget. Meet last year’s honorees.

In this season of thanksgiving...take a moment to shine a light on the good work and great spirit of an educator. The deadline for nominations is November 30th.

Go to top