2015 Magna Awards winners announced

The National School Boards Association named Swan Valley School District in Saginaw, Mich., Albemarle County Public Schools in Charlottesville, Va., and ABC Unified School District in Cerritos, Calif., the grand prize winners in the 21th annual Magna Awards.

The Magna Awards, a program supported by Sodexo, and sponsored by NSBA’s flagship magazine, American School Board Journal, recognizes school districts and their leaders taking bold and innovative steps to improve the lives of their students and their communities.

This year’s three grand prize, 15 first place, and 15 honorable mention winners were selected from three enrollment categories: under 5,000 students, 5,000 to 20,000 students, and over 20,000 students.

Each of the grand prize-winning school districts will receive a $5,000 contribution from Sodexo during a special presentation at NSBA’s 75th Annual Conference, to be held March 21 to 23 in Nashville.

“In a time when public schools are under attack, we are pleased to showcase schools and their leaders who are dedicated to innovation and excellence,” said Thomas J. Gentzel, Executive Director of NSBA. “The winning programs are proof that public education is leading the way to advance student achievement.”

Steve Dunmore, President of Sodexo Education-Schools said, “We applaud the innovative spirit these winning districts possess and we share their passion for improving quality of life and education for students.”

The complete list of winning programs is available in the press release.

Go to top