2016 CUBE Steering Committee Nominating Procedures and Roles and Responsibilities

The National School Boards Association's (NSBA) Council of Urban Boards of Education (CUBE) Steering Committee consists of 16 urban school board members, including an immediate past chair from CUBE school districts elected by CUBE districts.  The members serve staggered three-year terms.  Membership on the Steering Committee is limited to two full consecutive terms, and incumbent members whose pre - or first terms that expire in 2016 must reapply to be considered for reelection.  A vacancy on the Steering Committee will automatically occur in the event of a member's death, resignation, or the loss of their position as a school board member.  In the event of a vacancy, there is no automatic succession to seats from the vacating district (i.e. if a steering committee member from City A steps down, leaves the Steering Committee or his/her local board, individuals from City A do not automatically assume the seat). 

Below, please find the full nominating guidelines as well as the roles and responsibilites of CUBE Steering Committee members.

Go to top