Steering Committee

steering committee, diverse group of students in the classroom

Houston ISD/Dave Einsel:

Our CUBE Leadership Team

The Council of Urban Boards of Education (CUBE) is guided by a steering committee that seeks to foster effective school board governance in urban school districts. The steering committee is comprised of 16 school board members elected by representatives of the school districts participating in the CUBE program. The president and executive director of NSBA serve as ex officio members.

Steering committee members are elected to a three-year term. The committee elects its chair and vice chair, and the chair also serves as a voting member of the NSBA Board of Directors.


Micah Ali

Chair and NSBA Director

Micah Ali
Compton Unified School District
501 S. Santa Fe Drive
Compton, CA 90221
(301) 639-4321 (district phone)
(301) 632-3014 (district fax)

Assistant: Bernetta Major-Thomas

CUBE term expires 2019 – currently serving 1st term

Rhonda Skillern-Jones

Vice Chair

Rhonda Skillern-Jones
Houston Independent School District
4400 West 18th Street
Houston, TX 77092
(713) 556-6121 (district phone)
(713) 556-6115 (district fax)

Senior Writer: Yesenia Wence

CUBE term expires 2019 – currently serving 1st term


Ruth Veales


Ruth Veales
Oklahoma City Public Schools
900 North Klein Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK 73106
(405) 587-0444 (district phone)
(405) 587-0180 (district fax)

Secretary: Craig A. Cates

CUBE term expires 2019 – currently serving 2nd term

Bruce Alexander

Immediate Past Chair

Bruce Alexander
Akron Public Schools
70 North Broadway
Akron, OH 44308
(330) 761-1661 (district phone)
(330) 761-3225 (district fax)

Secretary: Ruth Solomon

Currently serving 1st year as Immediate Past Chair



Steve Corona

Steve Corona
Fort Wayne Community Schools
1200 S. Clinton
Fort Wayne, IN 46802
(260) 467-2025 (district phone)
(260) 467-1975 (district fax)

Board Assistant: Barbara Trout

CUBE term expires 2018—currently serving 1st term

Ericka Ellis-Stewart

Ericka Ellis-Stewart
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools
P.O. Box 30035
Charlotte, NC 28230
(980) 343-5139 (district phone)
(980) 343-7128 (district fax)

Secretary: Yvette Blakeney

CUBE term expires 2019—currently serving 2nd term


Ray Freeman
Warrensville Heights City Schools
4500 Warrensville Center Rd
Warrensville Heights, OH 44128
(216) 865-4733 (district phone)
(216) 921-5837 (district fax)

Secretary: Alicia Durett

CUBE term expires 2020 – currently serving 1st term

Martha James-Hassan
Baltimore City Schools
200 E North Ave, Rm 406
Baltimore, MD 21202
(443) 984-2000 (district phone)
(410) 545-3613 (district fax)

Secretary: Tenesha Moore

CUBE term expires 2020 – currently serving 1st term


Jayme Mathias
Austin Independent School District
1111 W 6th St
Austin TX 78703
(512) 414-2413 (district phone)

Secretary: Elaine Hopkins

CUBE term expires 2020 – currently serving 1st term

Leah Puryear
Charlottesville City Schools
1562 Dairy Rd
Charlottesville, VA 22903
(434) 245-2400 (district phone)
(434) 245-2603 (district fax)

Secretary: Leslie Thacker

CUBE term expires 2020 – currently serving 1st term


Jacinto Ramos, Jr.
Fort Worth Independent School District
100 N. University Dr.
Fort Worth, TX 76164-8621
(817) 871-2000 (district phone)
(817) 971-8328 (cell phone)

Secretary: Laura Litton

CUBE term expires 2020 – currently serving 1st term

Nandi Sekou
U.S. Virgin Islands Board of Education
P. O. Box 11900
60B, 61 & 62 Dronningens Gade
St. Thomas, VI 00801
(340) 774-4546 (district phone)
(340) 774-3384 (district fax)

Secretary: Carol Henneman

CUBE term expires 2020 – currently serving 2nd term


Keith Sutton

Keith Sutton
Wake County Public School System
5625 Dillard Drive
Cary, NC 27518
(919) 431-7400 (district phone)
(919) 431-7563 (district fax)

Secretary: Melissa Allen

CUBE term expires 2018 – currently serving 1st term

Caroll Turpin

Caroll Turpin
Pontiac School District
47200 Woodward Ave.
Pontiac, MI 48342
(248) 451-6800 (district phone)
(248) 451-6890 (district fax)

Secretary: Cynthia Wright

CBE term expires 2019 – currently serving 2nd term


Susan Valdes

Susan Valdes
Hillsborough County School District
901 East Kennedy Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33602
(813) 272-4052 (district phone)
(813) 272-4022 (district fax)

Assistant: Virginia Vasquez

CUBE term expires 2018 – currently serving 1st term

Martha Wilson

Martha Wilson
Camden City School District
201 North Front St.
Camden, NJ 08102
(856) 966-2000 (district phone)
(856) 966-2161 (district fax)

Board Assistant: Tremaine Johnson

CUBE term expires 2018 – currently serving 1st term


Ex-Officio Members

Kevin E. Ciak

NSBA President

Kevin E. Ciak
Parlin, NJ
Sayreville School District

Thomas J. Gentzel

NSBA Executive Director

Thomas J. Gentzel
(703) 838-6730 (office)
(703) 548-5613 (office fax)


CUBE Staff Support

Ron Skinner

Ron Skinner, CAE
Chief Member Services Officer
(703) 838-6771 (office)

Myra Maxwell

Lucy Berrier
Program Lead, Equity Program
(703) 838-6752 (office)


Myra Maxwell

Myra Maxwell
Sr. Program Associate, Equity & Governance
(703) 838-6716 (office)

Justin Anderson

Justin Anderson
Equity Program Assistant
(703) 838-6765 (office)


Go to top