Meet the Board


Houston ISD/Dave Einsel:

National Hispanic Council of School Board Members’ Board of Directors Application
Interested or know someone who would be interested in being a part of the NHC’s Board of Directors?

The application for the NHC’s Board of Directors is open for submission. The rules and application/nomination form can be found here:

Eligible applicants or nominees must be a Regular Member of the NHC in good standing. The application and all supporting materials must be submitted by Midnight, Eastern Time, Tuesday, January 24, 2017

National Hispanic Council of School Board Members Board of Directors

The National Hispanic Council’s Regional Directors and Executive Committee members are leaders in the effort to support and enhance the education of Hispanic students.


Lillian Tafoya
Bakersfield, CA
Bakersfield City School District
(Term expires 2017)



Steve Corona
Fort Wayne, IN
Fort Wayne Community Schools
(Term Expires 2017)

Vice Chair

Stephanie Parra
Phoenix, AZ
Phoenix Union High School District
(Term Expires 2018)


Jesus Rubalcava
Gila Bend, AZ
Gila Bend USD #24
(Term Expires 2018)


Jon Paul Romero
Santa Fe, NM
Pojaque Valley School District
(Term Expires 2018)

Immediate Past Chair

Guillermo Z. López
Lansing, MI
Lansing Public School District
(Term Expires 2017)

Regional Directors

Central Region

Joel Rodriquez
East Chicago, IN
School City of East Chicago, IN
(Term Expires 2018)

Pacific Region

John V. Gómez
Phoenix, AZ
Cartwright Elementary School District #83
(Term expires 2017)

Southern Region


Western Region

Ruben Archuleta
Espanola, NM
(Term Expires 2017)


Northeast Region

Jeannette Santos
Amityville, NY
Western Suffolk BOCES #2
(Term Expires 2017)


NSBA Liaison Staff

Lucy Berrier
Manager, Equity Programming
1680 Duke St. FL2
Alexandria, VA 22314-3493

Myra Maxwell
Equity Programming & Governance Specialist
1680 Duke St. FL2
Alexandria, VA 22314-3493

Justin Anderson
Equity Programming Assistant
1680 Duke St. FL2
Alexandria, VA 22314-3493

Go to top