About Us

Meet NSBA's Board of Directors

If you would like to contact a member of the Board of Directors by email, please email boardofdirectors@nsba.org.
 

Officers

Kevin E. Ciak

President

Kevin E. Ciak*
Parlin, New Jersey
Email: kciak@nsba.org
SD: Sayreville Public Schools

Frank C. Pugh

President-Elect

Frank C. Pugh*
Santa Rosa, California
Email: fpugh@nsba.org
SD: Santa Rosa City Schools District


ElizBeth “Beth” Branham

Secretary-Treasurer

ElizBeth “Beth” Branham*
West Columbia, South Carolina
Email: bbranham@nsba.org
SD: Lexington School District Two

Miranda A. Beard

Immediate Past President

Miranda A. Beard*
Laurel, Mississippi
Email: mbeard@nsba.org
SD: Laurel School District


Directors

Bob F. Alvey, Jr.

Director, Southern Region

Bob F. Alvey, Jr.
Jackson, Tennessee
Email: alveyrf@eplus.net
SD: Jackson Madison County Board
of Education

Pamela “Pam” Doyle

Director, Southern Region

Pamela “Pam” Doyle
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Email: pjdoyle62@gmail.com
SD: Alabama School of Math and Science


Viola M. Garcia, PhD

Director, Southern Region

Viola M. Garcia, PhD*
Houston, Texas
Email: violamgarcia@yahoo.com
SD: Aldine Independent School District

Eric K. Germann

Director, Central Region

Eric K. Germann
Van Wert, Ohio 
Email: germann4lincolnview@gmail.com
SD: Lincolnview Local Schools


Frank Henderson

Director, Western Region

Frank S. Henderson, Jr.*
Topeka, Kansas
Email: hendersf@msn.com
SD: Seaman United School District 345

Donald Hubler

Director, Central Region

Donald R. Hubler
Clinton Township, Michigan
Email: reggieweigel@gmail.com
SD: L’Anse Creuse Public Schools District and Macomb Intermediate School District


Tiffany Jackson

Director, Pacific Region

Tiffany Jackson
Sand Point, Alaska
Email: TJackson@aebsd.org
SD: Aleutians East Borough School District

Jacob R. Oliveira

Director, Northeast Region

Jacob (Jake) R. Oliveira
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Email: jake.oliveira@gmail.com
SD: Ludlow Public Schools


Neil Putnam

Director, Western Region

Neil Putnam
Mitchell, South Dakota
Email: neilputnam@mitchelltelecom.net
SD: Mitchell School District #17-2

Nandi Sekou

Director, Northeast Region

Nandi Sékou, Esq.
St. Thomas, Virgin Islands
Email: nsekou1@hotmail.com
SD: Virgin Islands Board of Education


Floyd Simon, Jr., DDS

Director, Western Region

Floyd Simon, Jr., DDS
Clinton, Oklahoma
Email: pinkfj@hotmail.com
SD: Clinton Public Schools

JoDee Sundberg

Director, Pacific Region

JoDee Sundberg
Orem, Utah
Email: jsundberg@alpinedistrict.org
SD: Alpine School District


Lydia Tedone

Director, Northeast Region

Lydia Tedone
Weatogue, Connecticut
Email: ltedone@yahoo.com
SD: Simsbury Public Schools

Charlie E. Wilson

Director, Pacific Region

Chris Ungar
Los Osos, California
Email: cungar@csba.org
SD: San Luis Coastal Unified School District


Charlie E. Wilson

Director, Central Region

Charlie E. Wilson*
Columbus, Ohio
Email: wilson.49@osu.edu
SD: Worthington City Schools


ex officio Voting Directors

Micah Ali

Chair, Council of Urban Boards of Education

Micah Ali
Compton, California
Email: mali@compton.k12.ca.us
SD: Compton Unified School District

Dr. Emma Turner

Chair, National Black Council of School Board Members

Dr. Emma Turner
Spring Valley, California
Email: emma357@aol.com
SD: La Mesa Spring Valley School District


Stephen “Steve” Corona

Chair, National Hispanic Council of School Board Members

Steve Corona
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Email: scorona428@gmail.com
SD: Fort Wayne Community Schools


ex officio Non-Voting Directors

Shawn Hime

Chair, Organization of State Association Executive Directors

Shawn Hime*
Executive Director
Oklahoma State School Boards Association
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 
Email: shawnh@ossba.org

Pilar Sokol

Chair, National American Indian/Alaska Native Council of School Board Members

Rodney R. Schilt
Strang, Oklahoma
Email: rodney@schiltmanagement.com
SD: Adair Public School District


Pilar Sokol

Chair, Council of School Attorneys

Pilar Sokol
Deputy General Counsel
New York State School Board Association
Latham, New York
Email: pilar.sokol@nyssba.org
 

Thomas J. Gentzel

NSBA Executive Director and CEO

Thomas J. Gentzel*
Alexandria Virginia
E-mail: tgentzel@nsba.org

 

* Executive Committee Member

Go to top